top of page
thehtstudio

Which Serum is best for you?

For many people it’s hard to differentiate what beauty skincare products to use. As many products are close in similarity it’s no wonder many individuals find themselves puzzled on which products to purchase, and if it is necessary; well you’re not alone.

If you’re anything like me you probably have tried numerous skincare products, have a collection of whatisthis or have even created your own. You may know it is a moisturizer, clear skin, what about the ingredients? Is it dermatologist tested or does it need to be?

I’ve used many, I have also made my own for myself and loved ones. So let’s break it down.

What is a serum exactly?

A serum is a skin care product with various consistency from oily to lotion-like that contains a high concentration of oils and moisturizing ingredients to help retain moisture in the skin, and depending on the ingredients it is a great addition to your skincare routine as many can help with blemishes, scars and signs of aging.

How and when should a Serum be used?

Generally used to be applied on the face though, some can be applied all over the body (it is really up to you) When also depends, some serums advocate for morning or evening though everyday use of whichever serum you like should/can be used daily.

Tested and pricing?

Do facial serums require dermatology testing? Not necessarily. Because serums are generally a safe product to us and varies in ingredients from just oil based to addition of chemicals, this also aids in the pricing- the more ingredients, more concentrated = more money and less can generally mean = less money. Although branding comes into affect and it’s really up in the air

Do I need it?

Adding this to your skincare routine wont be a bad thing, it can help in many ways. I myself like using facial serums as a moisturizing base, I have tried many and came to the conclusion I prefer to make my own for various reasons: I know what is in it and I know what works for my skin.

Let’s talk Natural!

The Dangers of Most Face Serums

Mineral oil: a common ingredient in skincare product, mineral oil can cause build up and results in clogged pores, a very common ingredient in many face products, including serums. Mineral oil can cause can create a film over your skin that prevents your skin from naturally releasing any toxin buildup.

Fragrance/parfum: Although not a detriment, fragrances in some cases can sauce allergic reactions and try out the skin.

Parabens: very common preservative usual, they can cause harm to female bodies as it can form/increase skin and breast cancer. There have also been studies where they have cause reproductive issues.

Formaldehyde: I learned of this as I was doing my research on how to make natural skincare products. Formaldehydes are a toxic to the human body, if you know formaldehyde is a strong gas which used in adhesives.

Which serum right for your skin? Yes, but always do your research!

Dry Skin: Coconut oil, Argan oil, Jojoba oil, olive oil, avocado oil, Safflower, oil

Acne-prone/oily-skin : lavender oil, Tea tree oil , rosehip oil, cinnamon oil

Normal /combination skin: jojoba oil, carrot seed oil, sweet almond oil

DIY Facial Serum Recipe

I have made some of my own facial serums, one of my favourites is my ‘Just Rosy’ serum which is a mix of:

Carrot seed oil

Jajoba oil

Rosehip oil

Rose essential oil

To purchase:

https://www.etsy.com/ca/listing/661560070/just-rosy?ref=shop_home_active_1

Natural serums tried and tested

1. Sunday Riley -GOOD GENES All-In-One Lactic Acid Treatment, 135$

2. Youth to the People -Superfood Firm and Brighten Serum, 60$

3. 100% Pure Vitamin C Serum, $41

4. InstaNatural Hyaluronic Acid Serum, $18

Share

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page