top of page
thehtstudio

Hair Products for Afro-Curly Hair

Let me begin by stating, I know every hair type is different especially when it comes to Afro-curly hair.

I have Afro-curly hair which is predominantly 3C-4b hair. My hair texture is very curly, gets dry very easily and requires excessive amounts of MOISTURE. This is nothing new for any curly head.

Over the years, I’ve tried various different hair care products. Countless. Endless. Useless products ( expensive ) I started out with using the Shea moisture hair products but for me and the recommendations from my hairdresser I quit using those products and focused more on conditioning and moisturizers.

As of right now without my hairdresser I’m alone to do all the work. Every year I go on a healthy hair journey and then decide to do something with my hair and reverse all my progress. This is something I’ve done recently by adding colour to my hair- I don’t mind , hair will grow but I want it to be healthy.

The products I’m loving right now :

Opalex conditioner , shampoo and the bonding conditioner. ( perfect for processed hair) definitely adds the moisture needed but because it’s quite pricey I tend to use it less.

Verb products- this is something very new for me , browsing the sephora website I wanted to try something new for my hair and I took a leap of faith. I love the verb products . Add the moisture, shine and definitely defines my curls. Now with verb I use the whole line ( yellow/brown) it’s for curly hair. It even takes the brassy colour out of my hair which is fantastic.

Verb products – curl cream & leave- in conditioner

I preferably love the curl cream more than the leave-in the moisture it gives my curls without weighting my hair down or just feeling like products has been added on top it’s seems like it seeps well into my follicles.

Now if anyone wants to try verb I do have a link which is affiliated, ill place them below.

I like to change up my hair routine products because for me, my hair texture typically changes often depending on my hormones / vitamin balance so when I know what I need more of I switch up the products. So if I do need extra moisture I will use the Cantu- coconut curling cream ! This product is FANTASTIC for 4-day hair when you just don’t have a wash day coming up but you need some moisture.

I will likely change up these products during the fall/winter, but for the spring/summer these will be my holy grails!

If you want to try the verb links here they are for my Canadians :Verb Canada & my Americans : Verb US

Share

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page