top of page
thehtstudio

BodyMovement: A shoulder workout

As you may or may not know there’s variety of different trainers with variously different training styles. For me personally I prefer circuit training or do a body split and alternate through the week. I like to give my clients a mix of body split/ fully body programs as majority are working individuals with little time to spend in the gym, especially more than 5 days a week.

I wanted to gain some insight of what its like to be trained by a bodybuilding personal trainer. I met with a trainer in Toronto, ON. I love to learn and any trainer who refuses help from a fellow trainer or anyone isn’t eager to learn enough about fitness.

So we chose to work on shoulders. ONE OF MY FAVOURITES

Here’s what we did

The workouts were high volume, meaning high reps (lots of reps) and various weights = hypertrophy

shoulder press:

5 sets of 10, 12, 10, 15, 12, 10

Start with lighter weights and increase each set

superset with :

lateral raises

5 reps 10, 12, 10, 15, 12, 10, contraction mainly in the lats

front raises

5 sets 10,12,10,15,12,10

superset with a variation of shoulder press, with the weights angled towards the head

Why: High reps will help build up lactic acid which is that burning feeling you get in your muscles. it also will help to build muscle (the shoulders are small so you’ll feel them quickly. high reps help build up muscle strength and with the 30-60sec rest you should be able to push through your next set of reps with ‘ease’

what did I learn?

To push myself more, I currently use some of those exercise in my daily routine and have added it to some of my client’s programs.

to not underestimate your strength! yes it will hurt duh its not supposed to feel like you’re relaxing. let’s start using discomfort or unfamiliar rather than pain, pain is an injury.

consistency! okay well I new being consistent is always important especially when it comes to fitness- but especially in some exercise programs which fail to hit a body part/muscle which requires constant attention to be built. aim for 3x a week hitting at least 3 muscle groups in similarity to build muscle and reduce fat. (more information on building a routine here).

Share

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page